# **Edwards County, Texas Elected Officials**

Hon. Souli Asa Shanklin, County Judge P.O. Box 348 Rocksprings, Edwards County, Texas 78880 Phone: 830-683-6122 E-mail: countyjudge@swtexas.net

Elected Officers of Political Subdivision	Year Elected Officer's Term Expires	
County Judge: Souli Asa Shanklin	December 31, 2022	
District and County Clerk: Olga Lydia Reyes	December 31, 2022	
County Treasurer: Lupe Enriquez	December 31, 2022	
Justice of the Peace: Tommy Walker	December 31, 2022	
County Attorney: Allen Ray Moody	Moody December 31, 2024	
County Sheriff: James Guthrie (J.W.) December 31, 2024		
County Tax-Assessor Collector: Lorenza Ruiz	December 31, 2024	
County Constable: John Maxwell	December 31, 2024	
County Commissioner, Pct. 1: Marty H. Graham December 31, 2024		
County Commissioner, Pct. 2: Lee Sweeten	ee Sweeten December 31, 2022	
County Commissioner, Pct. 3: Matt Fry	December 31, 2024	
County Commissioner, Pct. 4: Kenneth Reed	December 31, 2022	

All election precincts are COUNTYWIDE with the exception of the County Commissioner Precincts. Those offices are listed by Precinct in the list above.

## **Edwards County Local Political Party Chairpersons**

Republican Party Chair: Kathy Walker, P.O. Box 1072; Rocksprings, Texas 78880; (830) 683-7156

Democratic Party Chair: Melissa Martinez, P.O. Box 142; Rocksprings, Texas 78880 (830) 834-0089

#### **Candidate Eligibility**

The general eligibility requirements to be a candidate for a public elective office in Texas are that a person must:

- 1. be a United States citizen;
- 2. be 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election;
- 3. have not been determined mentally incompetent by a final judgment of a court;
- have not been finally convicted of a felony from which the person has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting Disabilities
- 5. have resided continually in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for 6 months immediately Preceding a date which varies according to the candidate's status;
- 6. satisfy any other eligibility requirements prescribed by law for the office

These requirements do not apply to an office for which the federal or state constitution or a statute outside the Texas Election Code prescribes exclusive eligibility requirements (Texas Election Code Ann. §141.001 [Vernon 1986]).

#### **Procedures for Filing**

In order to become a candidate with a major political party, one must file an application with the county or state party chair and pay a filing fee (ID 172.022, 172.024). A candidate also has the option of filing a petition in lieu of the filing fee (ID 172.025). The application and petition forms are available through your local party officials, the Secretary of State, or the Hays County Elections Administrator's office.

Please contact the state chair of the Democratic, Libertarian, or Republican Party for information on party rules. State party chair addresses are as follows:

Texas Republican Party State Chairman James Dickey		Texas Democratic Party Gilberto Hinojosa, Chair		Libertarian Party of Texas John Wilford, Chair
phone: (512) 477-9821 phone: (512) 478-9800 fax: (512) 480-0709 fax: (512) 480-2500		toll-free: (800) 422-1776 phone: (512) 279-7860 fax: (512) 233-0613		
www.texa	sgop.org	www.txdemocrats.org		www.lptexas.org
info@texasgop.org		yellowdog@txdemocrats.org press@txdemocrats.org		webmaster@lptexas.org
Facebook: Republican Party of Texas Facebook: Texa		Facebook: Texas De	emocratic Party	Facebook: Libertarian Party of Texas
Twitter: Texas GOP		Twitter: Texas	Democrats	Twitter: Libertarian Party of Texas

## **Financial Disclosure Requirements**

The Texas Election Code requires each candidate to file a designation of campaign treasurer and periodic sworn statements of their contributions and expenditures with the appropriate official to satisfy financial disclosure requirements. For information on financial disclosure laws, visit the Texas Ethics Commission at www.ethics.state.tx.us or via one of the following methods:

Phone 512.463.5800 TDD 800.735.2989

Physical Address: Sam Houston Bldg. 201 East 14th St., 10th Floor Austin, TX 78701

Mailing Address: P. O. Box 12070 Austin, TX 78711-2070

E-mail Addresses: openrecords@ethics.state.tx.us treasappoint@ethics.state.tx.us formsecurity@ethics.state.tx.us affidavits@ethics.state.tx.us public\_comments@ethics.state.tx.us (comments on proposed TEC rules) sworncomplaints@ethics.state.tx.us

### **Resources For Candidates/Officeholders**

- <u>Candidate Information (Secretary of State)</u>
- Candidate/Officeholder Forms and Instructions for Local Filers (Ethics Commission)
  - <u>Campaign Finance</u>
  - Personal Financial Statement
  - <u>Report Corrections</u>
- Filing Schedules for Candidates and Officeholders (Ethics Commission)
- Independent Candidates (Secretary of State)
- Index of Election Forms (Secretary of State)
- Write-in Candidates (Secretary of State)